VWcamperfun

Who drives your camper van?

Vroom with a view – but who gets to drive?

Vroom with a view – but who gets to drive?

A new survey claims that men prefer to do the driving, with 89% saying they plan to be at the wheel during day trips – but only 32% of women are content to let them do so, resulting in blazing rows.

I have to confess I’m perfectly happy to let Mr VWCamperfun do all the driving, whether we’re in the car or the camper van.

It’s not just sheer laziness on my part – not only is he a calmer driver than I am, when I’m driving he turns into the biggest fidget. He’ll mess with dials and controls, change the radio settings and start demanding, “are we there yet?”.

And it appears he’s not alone – commenting on the Halfords survey, psychologist Dr Geoff Rolls says, “Those women that allow men to drive appear to do so because they feel men are not good passengers.”

The survey also claims that 88% of men intend to assume responsibility for route planning while only 48% of women are willing to entrust this task to their male companions.

I generally assume the role of navigator and pride myself on my map-reading skills (just don’t mention Barcelona…) whereas if I’m driving and ask, “Do we turn here?” the answer is usually a bemused shrug before he turns back to fiddle with the radio. Again.

Dr Geoff goes on to suggest that to avoid arguments when driving, “everyone should have an agreed role and be happy with their allocated duties”.

So I wondered – when you’re on the road in your camper, do you have set roles and are they different from the ones you have when you’re out in your car? Or do you just happily bicker the journey away? 😉

10 comments on “Who drives your camper van?

  1. wild2012
    August 24, 2013

    Our roles are the same in the van and car. I do the driving and the navigation and the missus attends to the bickering in the back seat …! I must also admit to being a hopeless passenger.

    • Gill Hook
      August 24, 2013

      I think as long as everyone’s happy with their roles, it works fine. By the way, love your blog – Scotland by camper is on our to-do list, so we’ll be having a look at where you recommend.

      • wild2012
        August 25, 2013

        Thanks very much – hopefully some of my recommendations will be useful.

      • Seppi
        January 25, 2014

        If you are planning a Scotland trip by camper – Don’t forget to navigate your way over to the Outer Hebrides and all of the stunning camping spots on stunning white sandy beaches. Make it as far as Stornoway in your bus and you’ll get a welcoming complementary hot choc or latte in the shop called The Wardrobe behind the inner harbour. 🙂

  2. Martin Bellamy
    January 12, 2014

    I’m very happy to let Mrs B drive Absinthe. We both have key skills: she drives; I navigate

  3. Gill Hook
    January 27, 2014

    Thanks for the tip about The Wardrobe Seppi – we would LOVE to visit the Outer Hebrides one of these days! And love the VW-themed stuff you’re selling there too – I’ve been using the same camper fabric to make bunting. And Martin, as long as we’re happy in our roles, the journey goes smoothly… vehicle breakdowns not withstanding!

    • Seppi
      January 31, 2014

      I should have commented that I am the driver of my camper. I wish I wasn’t as I love driving but Id love to see the view too since our journey always starts with the drive down through the cairngorms or north through Sutherland. I am a single mum and until they are all 25 my insurers won’t cover them. 😦

      • Gill Hook
        February 1, 2014

        Well with that kind of scenery I’m not surprised you’d want to be able to enjoy the view!

  4. The Piper
    June 5, 2016

    We agreed to share, depending on who feels more like driving that day. Especially during long drives, we take turns. As for parking in difficult places, that’s usually me who takes care of that! 😉

    • Gill Hook
      June 16, 2016

      I’d love to share the driving, but Mr Camperfun gets soooo uptight when I try that it’s just easier for him to do it all… (ahem) 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 23, 2013 by in campervan, driving, Out and about and tagged , , , , , , .
